Kayla's cover photo
Kayla's photo

Kayla K.

USD $25/hr

Experienced K-12 Tutor

Tutor Information


Hello! I'm a reliable, energetic, and studious college student with approximately 3 years of paid experience with tutoring kids and teens K-12 and a lifelong experience of caring for children of all ages. I've worked with kids through several avenues, from formally tutoring at middle schools to initiating my own kid-centered programs that centers on political education and community building. Within the specialties that I've listed, I have earned an A- or higher on that subject and had tutored in with personalized study plans I've created. strive to equip every child that I come across with the tools to navigate through the world successfully and to lovingly push them towards their greatest potential. I previously worked at a middle school, where I tutored struggling, average, and advanced students in Literacy/ELA. We typically choose which format of media that the student prefers (i.e. ebook, article, etc.), read the text fully, and enter back into the text to dissect its writing format, grammar usage, vocabulary words, and more depending on the student's area of understanding. Usually I'll have the student undergo a diagnostic test I have designed to evaluate where they are in their learning so that I can properly asses and make use of their valuable time. I prepare lesson plans to meet goals identified in students' individualized study plans and maintain detailed files that track students learning progress.


Washington, District of Columbia, United States


English, Chinese






American University

2020 - 2023