Laura's cover photo
Laura's photo

Laura G.

CAD $20/hr

English University Student

5 hours

5 Hour Tutoring Package

Save 10% off my regular tutoring pricing when you select this package!

Buy 5 hours

Tutor Information


Hello, my name is Laura. I started tutoring ESL elementary-school students this year, and I would love to continue helping students improve their English skills through online tutoring. I am currently finishing an English and Psychology degree at Wilfrid Laurier. A bit about me: I love cats, crochet, and chocolate! As you can see, I also enjoy alliteration. I use both my passion for English and creativity to help accommodate tutoring sessions to fit the needs to the particular student, as I realize every student learns differently. I am qualified to tutor English for multiple reasons. For one, I have taken multiple English and Psychology courses relevant to teaching the English curriculum, such as: Learning and Developmental Psychology, Infancy and Childhood Psychology, the Fairy Tale, Children’s Literature, Tween Literature and Culture, and Young Adult Literature. I have also demonstrated high academic achievement. My overall GPA average is 9.6, while my Criminology minor GPA is 10.00. A specific academic achievement I have made in university is being on the Dean's Honour Roll in 2019. Relevant Skills: • Proven ability to create and facilitate positive experiential learning environments developed through various academic and community volunteer roles • A history of academic merit and academic excellence as evidenced through both high school and university performance • Excellent oral and written communication skills established through years of daily practice analyzing, summarizing, and creating written materials, conducting research, and effectively communicating ideas and concepts in classroom and group discussions • Strong computer skills applied to the successful completion of post-secondary studies, customer service roles, and community volunteer positions through the regular use of Microsoft Office word and PowerPoint, Zoom, and Google docs


Waterloo, Ontario, Canada






Middle School


Wilfrid Laurier University

2016 - 2022
Bachelor of Arts, English and Psyhology

Work Experience

Pet Valu

July 2017 - December 2019
Pet Expert and Key Holder
• Utilized a client centered approach to assist customers with questions and concerns related to the care and wellbeing of their beloved pets • Provided knowledgeable advice and product suggestions as needed to meet customer needs • Demonstrated proficiency in the use of applicable technology such as the POS and store website to search for products, create store orders, and complete purchases • Upheld policies and procedures related to the careful handling of products and removal of expired goods • Maintained corporate best practices: including the efficient completion of cash deposits and store opening and closing procedures

Tim Hortons

September 2015 - August 2016
Customer Service Representative and Midnight Baker
• Provided excellent customer service, utilizing a friendly and prompt approach, to 1000+ Tim Hortons clients • Responsible for the safe food handling and preparation of goods to ensure that quality and quantity standards were maintained • Ensured the successful completion of evening closing procedures, such as closing the dining area, cleaning and refilling beverage stations, and prepping stations for morning shifts