Margie's cover photo
Margie's photo

Margie R.

USD $15/hr

Friendly English Tutor With International Experience

2 hours

Informal English Conversation

The best way to maintain your English? More speaking practice! Semi-structured, relaxed chats with error correction provided in a way that suits you.

Buy 2 hours
2 hours

Personalized English Lessons

Progress and results oriented English lessons, prepared with your goals in mind. Let's start building English skills and the confidence to use them today!

Buy 2 hours
2 hours

Test Preparation - IELTS, TOEFL, TOEIC

Buy 2 hours

Tutor Information


Hello, I'm Margie! I am new to the TutorOcean platform and can't wait to get started! I'm a certified ESL tutor with 5 years of experience teaching in traditional classrooms, the private sector, and online platforms. I am a native English speaker from the USA who loves to help English learners succeed. I've lived outside of my home country for much of my adult life and understand the challenges that come with living abroad, which is one reason I am passionate about working with those who have relocated to English speaking countries (or plan to) for work or study. I specialize in English for specific purposes and test preparation. After an informal, conversational assessment I'll show you the best path we can take to progress toward your learning goals. As well as lessons, I am happy to help with short term needs such as proofreading, editing, and revision of personal statements and applications. My formal qualifications include a BA and TEFL certification, and I have taken specialized training courses for IELTS and TOEFL prep. The price you see displayed is my rate for conversational English lessons. These are low pressure classes where we work on building not only English skills, but also the confidence to use the language. Test preparation and specialized class rates may vary depending on your needs. My style is low stress and friendly. I am often told that I create a comfortable speaking environment which is BIG point of pride for me! See you soon!


Minneapolis, United States






High School


Richmond University, London

2002 - 2005
BA, Political Science

Work Experience

Private Tutor

April 2021 - present
Independent Online EFL Tutor and Teacher

Private Company

June 2018 - March 2021
Senior EFL Consultant + Teacher