Adrien's cover photo
Adrien's photo

Adrien L.

CAD $25/hr

Learn With Adrien

Tutor Information


Husband, father, writer, teacher, soccer coach, Type 1 diabetic...I wear many hats and I wear them all well. Teaching is my passion. I really believe in the value of education. The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind is one of my favourite movies and it speaks to the value of education for individuals, their families, and their communities - no matter the circumstances. I look forward to helping you on your learning journey. My areas of strength: writing and composition (essays, academic writing, creative writing), teaching English as a Second Language (ESL), history, social studies, French language (beginner to intermediate).


Victoria, British Columbia, Canada


English, French, Turkish




Middle School
High School
I want to learn a new hobby


University of Victoria

2023 - 2025
Currently enrolled at the University of Victoria pursuing my Bachelor of Education degree. The program I am in takes 16 months of consecutive study to complete because I already have a Bachelor of Arts degree. I hope to teach at the high school and middle school levels both in Canada and abroad.

Algonquin College

2018 - 2019
Diploma, Accounting
Obtained a diploma (2 year) in accounting from Algonquin College in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada.

Carleton University

2008 - 2011
Bachelor of Arts, History
Completed my Bachelor of Arts in History degree at Carleton University in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada.

University of Saskatchewan

2005 - 2007
Liberal Arts
Started my Bachelor of Arts degree at the University of Saskatchewan in 2005, immediately after high school. Moved to Ontario/Quebec in 2007 and completed my Bachelor of Arts degree (in History) at Carleton University in Ottawa, Ontario in 2011.

Work Experience

Learn With Adrien

November 2020 - present
Private Tutor
I started private tutoring during the pandemic. My wife and I had been operating a commercial cleaning business and with the pandemic-related lockdowns and shutdowns, many of our clients no longer required our services. We had been working almost seven days a week since I left my job at the John Howard Society of Victoria and so I was ready for a break! I also have two young children and so private tutoring works well with my home life. I tutor primarily high school students in English, social studies, science, and math.

John Howard Society of Victoria

August 2013 - May 2017
Employment Counselor
One of the best jobs I've ever had. This was the job where I realized that teaching and being able to help others unlock their potential were things that I was naturally good at and loved doing. I had a fantastic supervisor and mentor. This job involved me working with adolescents and adults who needed help finding work. I became an expert at resumes and cover letters and the job search process. I did a lot of networking. I never failed a client (every client I worked with, I worked with them until they were successful in their job search.)