Jonathan's cover photo
Jonathan's photo

Jonathan S.

CAD $20/hr

Elementary/Junior High School Work/ Linguistics/ College Applications

Tutor Information


TESOL CERTIFIED! I am currently a senior at the Werklund School of Education, University of Calgary, with an expected graduation date in 2024. During this past summer, I successfully completed the TESOL certificate program, specializing in adolescent English Language Learners (ELL) teaching. My journey in education began during high school when I started tutoring, and I've continued to expand my teaching skills as a pre-service teacher, gaining valuable experience through a month-long, in-person teaching practicum with a class of more than 25 students. Throughout my teaching and tutoring experiences, I've discovered a profound passion for instructing elementary-level English Language Arts and Mathematics. I view these two subjects as the cornerstones of a student's future academic success. Consequently, I'm enthusiastic about developing tailored strategies for each individual student facing difficulties in these areas. I am specifically interested in assisting students who are English Language Learners because I was once a newcomer to Canada as well. I can relate profoundly to the emotional and academic challenges my students are encountering. With my expertise in ELL education and experience teaching ELL, I have learned the most recent English learning theories and gained the appropriate tools to help my students regain their confidence in a brand-new education system. In my leisure time, I enjoy making handicrafts and exploring new travel destinations. I am also a fan of Japanese anime.


Calgary, Alberta, Canada


Mandarin/Chinese, English, Spanish, Taiwanese Hokkien




Middle School
High School


University of Calgary

2020 - 2024
Education, English Language Learner

Work Experience

Student Success Centre, University of Calgary

January 2022 - April 2022
Study Group Helper

Private Tutor

January 2021 - June 2021
Private English Tutor

Rotary Club, Taiwan

September 2017 - June 2018
English Tutoring Volunteer