Sam's cover photo
Sam's photo

Sam M.

USD $15/hr

Patient and friendly ESL teacher

Tutor Information


Hi, nice to meet you! My name is Sam, and I'm a teacher from England. I know that learning a foreign language can be a challenge, so I enjoy creating a relaxed and fun learning environment. I have experience teaching English as a foreign language since 2013 and have taught children and adults, both in person and online. I have patiently helped those who have no English level, and others who use business English professionally. I have a bachelor's degree in Language Education and a TESOL certificate. I have been learning Chinese since 2006, so I understand the challenges of learning a foreign language. However, I have also experienced the joys of being able to progress and communicate in a new language! I really hope to help you gain confidence and reach your goals. I enjoy playing the guitar, cycling, and travelling the world with my wife. I'm looking forward to meeting you soon!


Lytham St Annes, England, United Kingdom


English, Chinese




Middle School
High School
I want to learn a new hobby


United States Institute of Language and Clerical Sudies

2017 - 2020
Bachelor of Principles and Methods of Language Education (Magna Cum Laude), Education
This degree helped me to obtain a comprehensive knowledge and deep understanding of the field of language education. The course also enabled me to acquire the theoretical and practical skills needed to become skilled in the exciting field of language education.

United States Institute of Language and Clerical Studies

2017 - 2020
TESOL (120 hours), Language Education
This course discussed the most effective teaching methods used today in teaching English to foreign language learners.

Work Experience

New Oriental (Bling ABC)

August 2021 - October 2021
Online English Tutor
I was an online ESL teacher for New Oriental. The students were aged 3 to 16 years old. I really enjoyed teaching online and making lessons interactive and engaging for all students, no matter what their language ability or personality.

LRC Kids

December 2020 - August 2021
English Teacher
I worked as an English teacher in a busy training centre in China. The students were aged 3 to 13 years old. I really enjoyed helping to make learning English fun and interactive., and enjoyed seeing the students progress as they gained confidence and skills in speaking a foreign language.

Freelance Language Tutor

September 2013 - present
Freelance teacher of English and basic Mandarin Chinese
I have enjoyed teaching children and adults of various language abilities. For example I have taught adults who want to improve their language skills for business or personal reasons, also other adults who are starting to learn basic English, and others who want to practice conversational English. I have also taught children from 3 to 15. Teaching a foreign language requires patience and commitment, but I find it to be very rewarding. I look forward to helping more language learners and improving my teaching skills.