Emily's cover photo
Emily's photo

Emily J.

USD $17/hr

A biology graduate student with 3+ years of tutoring experience.

Tutor Information


I am currently a PhD student in marine, estuarine, and envrionmental research, and a recent graduate from the University of Pittsburgh where I earned my bachelors in biological science with minors in chemistry, statistics, and French. As an undergraduate student, I worked as a peer tutor, an academic coach, and a teaching assistant to work with students in an individualized and group setting.


Baltimore, United States






High School


University of Maryland

2022 - 2027
Doctor of Philosophy, Marine Science

University of Pittsburgh

2018 - 2022
Bachelor's of Science, Biological Sciences
Graduated Summa Cum Laude with an Honors Degree. Received the Dean's Scholar Award. Received Dean's List every semester.

Work Experience

Institute of Marine and Environmental Technology

August 2022 - present
Graduate Research Assistant
Study dinoflagellate genetics and adaptations in the Place Lab

University of Pittsburgh

August 2021 - May 2022
Academic Coach
Gave presentations to first-year students regarding academic resources available on campus. Also made video content for the website.

University of Pittsburgh

August 2020 - May 2022
Undergraduate Teaching Assistant
Facilitated group activities, held office hours, and prepared weekly worksheets for students.

University of Pittsburgh

August 2019 - May 2022
Peer Tutor
Provided one-on-one tutoring in biology, chemistry, and statistics (in person, but via tutor ocean during the pandemic).