Benjamin's cover photo
Benjamin's photo

Benjamin L.

USD $90/hr

Cornell Graduate & Incoming Medical Student with Years of Tutoring Experience

10 hours

10 Tutoring Hours Deal (MOST POPULAR!)

Buy 10 hours
20 hours

20 Tutoring Hours Deal (BEST VALUE - SAVE $200!)

Buy 20 hours

Tutor Information


Hello! My name is Ben and I am a recent graduate of Cornell University, earning my BA in Psychology with a triple minor in Biology, European Studies, and Theatre. I am currently taking a gap year before I start medical school in the fall, after which I hope to become a psychiatrist. During this time, I am reopening my schedule for new tutoring clients! I have years of tutoring experience helping students prepare for the SAT and ACT, improving students' grades in high school and middle school math classes, editing college essays, and more! As a tutor, I know that every one of my students will have a different level of experience with the chosen material -- due to differences in learning styles, educational background, and (critically) their motivation to work hard for their academic success. That's why I focus my first session not only assessing each student's proficiency in the material, but getting to know them as a person. Because if I can develop a bond with my students, coming to sessions and putting in the work will feel meaningful -- not simply "extra homework". And, speaking of outside work, let me just say this -- you will never have to pay for outside materials as my student. Period. I utilize free online materials, including practice exams for my test prep students -- and any gaps are filled in with my own materials. Because I know tutoring can be expensive. So why should you pay any more for extra materials? ------------------------------ My specialty subjects include SAT/ACT PREP (MATH, ENGLISH/WRITING, and SCIENCE sections), CHEMISTRY (up to the AP CHEM/GEN CHEM level), and HIGH SCHOOL MATH (from ALGEBRA up to PRECALCULUS). But I tutor for many more subjects -- so, feel free to reach out about any high school/early college STEM or admissions tutoring inquiries! ---------------- I am so excited to meet you and get to work! Please reach out letting me know what you want to learn and I'll get back you ASAP with how I can help. Thank you!


Newport Beach, California, United States






Middle School
High School


Cornell University

2019 - 2022
Bachelor of Arts, Psychology
BA in Psychology with a triple minor in Biology, European Studies, and Theatre

Work Experience

The College Student Tutor

May 2020 - present
Founder & Head Tutor
* Designed standardized program to assess students’ knowledge and applied teaching strategies to help students see significant improvements in SAT/ACT scores and college essays * Recognized by former students with exceptional rating for innovative curriculum development and dedicated, personalized approach to instruction