Dena's cover photo
Dena's photo

Dena B.

USD $30/hr
Save

Experienced Online Teacher 7 years

5 hours

$100
English Second Language ESL- Elementary ages 5-12

The student will learn new vocabulary, practice Reading, Conversation practice (questions and answers)/Free Talk on subjects that they like and enjoy.

Buy 5 hours
10 hours

$180
Alphabet/Numbers Prek-Kindergarten Ages 4-6

Students will learn/write their letters A-Z, phonetic sounds of each letter, learn new vocabulary and learn/write numbers 1-20.

Buy 10 hours
10 hours

$180
Reading- Ages 5 to 12

Students will learn new vocabulary words, practice reading stories, answering comprehension questions, and play learning games.

Buy 10 hours
5 hours

$100
Elementary Math Ages 5 to 9 K-4th Grade

Students will learn Common Core Standards in Math per Grade Level.

Buy 5 hours

Tutor Information

About

I have a B.A. in Psychology with a minor in Early Childhood Education, Master's in Religion, a Post-Master's in College Teaching and a 120-hour TESOL Certification. I have 7 years experience teaching English as an Online ESL teacher to children ages 3 to 18 and Adults 19 and up from China, Japan, Taiwan and here in the United States. I am currently a 1st & 2nd Grade Mixed Teacher for a private school. I have taught English Language Arts, Math, Social Studies, Science, Reading, Vocabulary, Grammar, Phonics, Spelling, Handwriting, Writing. I also attended Art Instruction Schools where I acquired a certificate in the Fundamentals of Art. I love art and drawing. I am a self-taught artist and love drawing cartoon characters and animals, practically anything I can see, I can usually draw it. I believe learning should be student centered, fun, and engaging. This will help students obtain knowledge as they develop their critical thinking and problem-solving skills. Teaching is my passion and I enjoy helping students reach their academic goals. Teaching is my Passion! I enjoy working with children and Adults and my hobbies are Reading, Drawing, going for walks in the park, playing computer games and spending time with my family and friends. I also enjoy going to the Science Museum.

Location

Tinley Park, Illinois, United States

Language

English

Timezone

America/Chicago

Levels

Elementary
Middle School
High School
College/University

Education

Capella University

2014 - 2015
Post Master's Certificate, Education-College Teaching
Teach Education Courses at the College Level (English) (Psychology) Completed Practicum Experience in Course Design

Liberty University

2007 - 2010
Master of Arts, Religion: Concentration Biblical Studies
Studied Religion, Bible Books, Systematic Theology, Old Testament/New Testament Survey

Chicago State University

1992 - 2003
Bachelor of Arts, Psychology, minor Early Childhood Education
Studied Psychology and minor in Early Childhood Education

Work Experience

Living Legacy Academy

September 2023 - present
Online 1st & 2nd Mixed Grade Teacher
Teach 6 and 7 year old students Math, English Language Arts, Character Building, Spelling/Sight Words/Handwriting, Science, Social Studies, Bible, Art (Drawing).

Air Reading

August 2023 - present
Online Reading Teacher
Teach ages 5 to 12, Grades K to 6. Teach 30 and 40 minute classes, assist in learning new vocabulary words, high frequency sight words, and reading stories to improve fluency and comprehension skills. Offer feedback to parents on student progress.

Magic Ears

August 2021 - June 2024
Online ESL Teacher
Teach children ages 6-12 English, Grammar, Vocabulary, Reading Comprehension, Phonics and Sentence Structure

Outschool

April 2020 - present
Online Teacher (Variety of Subjects)
Teach Students/Homeschoolers Online English, Reading Fluency, Reading Comprehension, Phonics, Math, Spelling, Drawing cartoon and Kawaii and Animal characters children ages 5 to 12.

ITutorGroup

November 2019 - June 2021
Online ESL Teacher
each children ages 3-18, and Adults ages 19 and up grammar, Phonic, Vocabulary, sentence structure, Reading, Reading Comprehension and Writing.